Microwave Potato Chips

Few weeks ago, I was in super trial mode…. It was a cloudy Saturday…dull and boring!! I had pinned this Microwave Potato Chip recipe a while ago but never tried it…so nothing better than making some trials. The recipe is from the website Food Gal – Carolyn Jung’s wesbite, an award winning food and wine writer. She has some nice recipes on her site 😀

Here is a picture of my trial: a little well done… but boy they were yummilicious 😀

MPC1

Microwave Potato Chips

from Food Gal

(makes 4 servings, 12-14 chips each)

1 1/3 pounds Yukon Gold or red potatoes, unpeeled, scrubbed

2 teaspoons or so of extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

Cooking spray

Procedure:

1. Slice potatoes into 1/8-inch rounds for thicker potato chips. For thinner ones, use a mandolin to cut very thin slices. Toss slices in a medium bowl with oil and salt to coat evenly. (Mandolin Slicer is a must I felt)

2. Coat a large microwave-proof plate with cooking spray. Arrange some potato slices in a single layer on the plate. Microwave, uncovered, on High until some slices start to brown, 2 to 3 minutes (depending upon potato thickness and microwave power).

MPC

3. Turn slices over (they will be hot, so take care with your fingers) and continue microwaving until they start to crisp and brown around the edges, about 35 seconds for very thin potato slices to 2 to 4 minutes for thicker slices. Check frequently and rearrange slices as needed to prevent scorching.

4. Transfer chips to another plate and allow to cool completely. (They will crisp up more as they cool.) Repeat process with remaining slices.

MPC2

Storage: Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Per serving: 141 calories; 2 g fat (0 g saturated; 2 g monosaturated); 0 mg cholesterol; 26 g carbohydrate; 3 g protein; 2 g fiber; 291 mg sodium; 807 mg potassium. Nutrition bonus: Potassium (27 percent daily value)

I tried Gold Yukon Potatoes and Russet Potatoes. Youkon Gold are definitely better choice for making these chips. I can’t emphasize the importance of mandolin slicer. While making these, I was cursing myself for not having one 😦 I mean how much you try, hand cutting slices  of the same size is not possible.

That evening my friends came over…everyone tasted it and loved them. Although I would not make this for a party…would rather make for myself when I feel like eating some potato chips (better than bagged chips) =)

I hope you guys try it…it is easy and yum!!

Until next time,

Cheers =)

2 thoughts on “Microwave Potato Chips

  1. It does take a few trials, as every microwave is a little different. Yours turned out great! They are so addicting, aren’t they? It’s almost dangerous to know you can make these that way. LOL

Leave a comment