Black Pepper Paneer

Paneer aka Indian Cottage cheese is different that the cottage cheese found in U.S. Paneer has a firm shape …like that of tofu…but is creamier than tofu. Paneer is associated with Northern part of India and you can find tonnes of recipes using this 1 ingredient!! I grew up eating paneer…. we ate paneer almost everyday… my dad loves it…..so mom was always making new recipes with it… and hence my sister and I grew loving it too and my husband enjoys it as much =)

Black pepper and Paneer…both are my favorites…. and to find a recipe that has both these ingredients…AWESOME! I just enjoy the flavor and spice that black pepper adds to to any food. So I had to try this recipe and I must say it taste good….soo peppery!!

BPP

So here is the recipe… from Sanjeev Kapoor’s (renowned chef in India) website

BLACK PEPPER PANEER

Ingredients

  • Cottage cheese (paneer) 200 gms
  • Black pepper crushed 1 tablespoon
  • Green chillies 2 tsp
  • 1 Onions large
  • Oil 2tsp
  • Garlic cloves finely chopped 8-10
  • Red chilli paste 2 tsp (I used Sirachi Chilli sauce)
  • Vinegar 2tsp
  • Soy sauce 1tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 Green bell pepper cut into 1 inch pieces
  • Paneer chilli masala 1 tsp (I am not sure what this is… so I just added some Chicken Tikka Masala…easily available in any Indian Grocery)
  • Fresh coriander leaves finely chopped

For garnishing

  • Chaat masala (easily available in Indian Grocery)
  • Crispy fried noodles

Method

1: Roughly chop green chillies. Cut cottage cheese and onions into 1 inch cubes.

2: Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add garlic, green chillies and sauté for half a minute.

3: Add onions and sauté for 1-2 minutes. Add red chilli paste, vinegar, soya sauce, 1 tbsp crushed black pepper, salt and mix well.

4: Add ½ cup water, green capsicum, cottage cheese and cook for 5-7 minutes.

5: Add paneer chilli masala, coriander leaves and mix well. Switch off heat and transfer into a bowl.

6: Sprinkle black pepper powder and chaat masala. Garnish with fried noodles and serve hot.

I did not do the noodle bit…. but sprinkling the chaat masala and that extra pepper is a must… adds the perfect finishing touch!! Yum Yum Yum!! Eat it by itself… eat it with some Naan… make a wrap…. eat it with stir fried rice…. love it!! My do-not-like-much-black-pepper husband liked it too 😉

A delicious quick recipe! Try it and let me know how you like it!!

Until next time,

Cheers =)

Leave a Reply

