Healthy Corn Chowder

Soups are always yum on cold winter days…. for past 2 weeks we had been having some crazy cold weather…but it has come back to some warmer temperatures (rolling eyes) I’m so tired of this constant hot-cold game. However, nothing soothing like some warm soup to beat this crazy weather. I have been following Jamie Oliver’s “Food Tube” channel on you tube. Various chefs make this amazing recipes… Love them….and I don’t even eat meat!! They are all so delicious!

Few days ago, they shared this recipe Healthy Corn Chowder…. made by Donal Skehan….. The recipe is delicious… and Donal is cuuuute đŸ™‚ I love his accent…. So I had to try this recipe.

CornChowder

Healthy Corn Chowder

Recipe by Donal Skehan for Food Tube

Ingredients:

1 stalk celery, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1tbsp olive oil

1/2tsp dried thyme

1 tbsp plain flour (I use whole wheat flour)

3 cups low fat milk (I used 2 %)

3 spring onion greens, chopped

1 medium potato, cubed

2 cups frozen corn (I used 1 can of no salt added corn)

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 tbsp chopped cilantro (Not in original recipe)

1/2 cup water (Not in original recipe)

Method:

1. Heat oil in a pot and add the onions, celery and thyme. Cook till they are soft.

2. Add the flour and milk. Combine well. Once combined add the cubed potatoes and cook for 12 minutes-til potatoes are tender.

3. Add the chopped spring onions and corn and season as per your taste.

I added 1/2 cup water as the base started to get very thick and I wanted it to be a little thin. I also added cilantro for some added taste.

 

CornChowder1

The flavors of celery, spring onions and thyme just make it so delicious. I like black pepper….so I added more of it to season my chowder. I used whole wheat flour and I don’t think it made any difference. Extremely delicious and quick to make….this recipe is a keeper!!!

Do try it =)

Until next time,

Cheers =)

Leave a Reply

