Cheesy Spinach Oatmeal

Breakfast is always a daunting meal… especially when you do not want to eat eggs everyday or are not fan of sweet start to the day with pancakes or waffles. Although my weekday breakfasts happen in the car driving to work…so I always end up making this egg sandwhich…. toasted Ezekiel Bread with one sliced boiled egg, spinach, brown mustard and little mayo- easy to eat in car.

However, on days home… I want to eat non egg things. We have some breakfast recipes in our Indian food too. But still at times there is a desire to eat something different. I have been wanting to add more protein in the mornings, to have more energy….Oatmeal is a filler….but again….can’t eat the sweet stuff!! So I decided to research on Savory Oatmeal dishes. I have made Oatmeal Khichdi (indian term for mix of rice, lentils and veggies–gonna have to be another post!!) But somehow never thought of Savory Oats breakfast…until I came across Girl Makes Food. She has Cheesy oatmeal recipe….which looked delish….So I decided to give it a try while we have been snowed/iced in for 4 days now 😉

CheesySpinachOatmeal

Cheesy Spinach Oatmeal

Adapted form Girl Makes Food Recipe

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oatmeal (I used Extra Thick Rolled oats, Girl Makes food used Steel cut Oats)

1- 1/4 cup water

1-2 cups spinach

1/4 cup shredded mild cheddar (or any cheese of your choice)

Salt, Pepper to taste

Method:

1. Cook oatmeal as per package direction with little bit of salt in it (Let water boil, add the oats, bring the flame down and cook covered). My package suggested 1 cup water for 1/2 cup oatmeal. However, I like mine slightly loose/runny so I used 1-1/4 cup. My oats took 10 mins to cook.

2. Once the oats are cooked, add the spinach, cheese, and pepper. Stir. Adjust seasonings as per taste.

3. Enjoy while hot/warm!!

Conclusion: Yummeeee!!! It is delicious. After tasting it, my brains started sprinting on ideas of all the seasonings I could add or all the veggies I could add or all the desi spices I could add to give it an Indian twist. It is definitely a keeper…. I think a perfect breakfast for Saturdays when my husband and I go do our long walks!!

Something worth trying!!

Until next time

Enjoy!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

