Lasagna Roll-up: Chicken or Spinach

With my husband trying to eat better and me wanting to make sure he does not get bored of all Indian pulses, lentils and veggies, I have to keep throwing food suggestions. So today while I suggested something Italian…he threw back “with chicken” to me πŸ˜› Thank Lord for Deli Chicken πŸ˜€ which I keep in my fridge a lot lately!! VOILA created Lasagna Roll ups… with Chicken for him and with Spinach for me πŸ™‚

LasagnaRollups

LASAGNA ROLL-UPS:

16 oz Cottage Cheese- 2% milk fat

Seasonings of your choice (I used Sicilian Blend – dipping herb for bread)

Red Chilli Flakes, as per taste

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto –Homemade or store bought

Shredded Chicken (I used 1/4 pound buffalo chicken)/Spinach (depending on veggie or meaty)

6- No Boil Lasagna Noodles/Regular Lasagna noodles

Arrabiatta Sauce (I used Mario Batali’s)

Parmesan Cheese

Method:

1. If using No Boil Noodles, you will need to soak them in hot water for 10-15 minutes to soften so they are easy to roll. Otherwise, boil the lasagna noodles and let them cool. Preheat oven to 350 degree F.

2. Mix Cottage cheese, sun-dried tomato pesto, seasonings and chilli flakes. My seasoning had salt in it and cottage cheese have some too, so I did not add any extra. If you are making Vegetarian only, you can add some boiled, chopped spinach to the mixture at this point. My husband is not a spinach fan so I separated his before I added spinach.

3. Pat dry the noodle, put some cheese mixture, add the chicken (if using), spoon some arrabiatta sauce and roll tight. Place them in a baking dish laid with sauce. Spoon some more sauce over and sprinkle cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake for 5-10 mins more, for cheese to melt. Serve hot with salad or bread.

NOTE: I would add ricotta cheese and mozzerella cheese as well, I just did not have any at home 😦

Verdict….Β  Came back to mine hot in oven (of course I shut the oven before I left :P)… Heaven!! Delivered some to hubbs at work since he is working late…. he shared with a co worker who asked for the recipe πŸ™‚ yayy someone else liked it as well. I am sure hubbs liked it too… he is not the kinds to tell if something tasted yum… but if the container comes back empty…I will know he liked it and I can make it again.

I am just glad we will have alternative to Spaghetti when cooking Italian at home πŸ˜›

Until next time,

Cheers =)

Leave a Reply

