Sun Dried Tomato Pesto Pasta

In between I was totally off Pasta…SHOCKER!! I knooow… With my love for pastas and bread it is definitely shocking I did not want much pasta šŸ˜› But now pasta love is back šŸ˜€ I loooove pasta salads for lunch… pick a pasta…add any veggies you want, add some home made dressing … YUM!! Stomach full..and happy!! While lately my bread intake has definitely gone down and that too eating healthier Ezekiel 4:9 Sesame Sprouted Whole Grain Bread Pasta has not been easy to quit…so after moving to eating Whole Wheat and now Quinoa pastas.. feel a little less guilty šŸ˜‰

So while I love my Basil Spinach Pesto… I decided to try Sun Dried Tomato Pesto. Had bought a bag of Sun Dried Tomatoes from Costco (plain, not in oil). So 1 google search later…. I found Giada DeLaurentis’s Sun Dried Tomato Pesto recipe.SunDriedTomatoPesto

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

Recipe by Giada DeLaurentis

1 (8.5-ounce) jar sun-dried tomatoes packed in olive oil
2 garlic cloves
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan
Red chilli flakes (my addition)
1/4 cup olive oil if using plain sun dried tomatoes
Mix all the ingredients in a food processor/blender till fine paste. It will stay in refrigerator for a week, stored in an air tight container.
Use this pesto as salad dressings, or put in pasta, use to make sandwiches or wraps!! Versatile little condiment… and nothing like making your own…. homemade is always yum!!!
Here is what I made using this pesto:
SunDriedTomatoPesto1
I cooked some Quinoa Pasta, took some of the pesto and added pasta water to make it liquid and added the hot pasta. But I wanted something else… so nothing some spring mix for perfect crunch and taste šŸ™‚ Stomach, hear and mind …all satisfied šŸ˜Ž
Quick and Easy lunch idea isn’t it? Add some grilled chicken or veggies and make healthy dinner!!
Until next time,
Cheers =)
One thought on “Sun Dried Tomato Pesto Pasta

  1. Pingback: Lasagna Roll-up: Chicken or Spinach | Life Scribbles Over Coffee

Leave a Reply

