Asian Wrap

Eating healthy does not have to be boring…something I have heard often… but with limited choices and closed mind…it is hard to think of ideas/recipes. However, now that my hubbs is trying and ready to experiment… I have been throwing fun recipes at him in the hopes he would agree to try. With his daily servings of each food group to be followed, his grain serving was eaten up at breakfast. So what could we do for lunch that would sustain him, but was not a sandwich.Β  He said he will eat some chicken salad. As much as I am like he is eating salads…I am worried he is going to get over it soon. Mission for Pinterest =) My favorite go to place for everything…crafts or food or gift ideas. Some pictures later….hello Asian Chicken Wraps πŸ™‚ Sounded yum, chicken is filling, cabbage will give nice crunch and will give the extra fill.

Tried it…hubbs said “house smells like I am in PF Changs” ….. taste… “this is good” SUCCESS!!! I had to try it… made mine with tofu….everything remained same…just the protein changed πŸ™‚

 

Asian Wrap- Chicken or Tofu

Asian Wrap- Chicken or Tofu

 

The original recipe can be found HERE

I did make minor changes in the recipe and we did not make any dipping sauce… it taste great by itself.

My version– dont have perfect measurements unfortunately for mine except for oil and sauce.

Asian Wrap

1 tsp mix of seasame oil and canola oil

Chicken/Tofu (I used shredded deli slices for chicken and 1/4 of Extra firm tofu cut into small pieces)

chopped onions and green onions

Shredded carrots (used only in tofu wrap)

2 garlic cloves minced

Cabbage leaves Savoy/Napa are suggested (I used regular green cabbage)

For Stir fry sauce:

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce

1/2 tsp rice wine vinegar

1 tsp Sirachi sauce

1 tsp Chilli paste (I use Sambal Olek…ones with chilli seeds in it)

 

Method:

1. Mix all the sauce ingredients in a bowl and keep ready.

2. Heat oil and add onions and garlic. Saute for few minutes, until onions are translucent. Add the chicken/tofuΒ  and carrots, if using, and saute for few minutes. If using tofu, you might want to saute longer as you want the water from tofu to evaporate and form like a light crust.

3. Add the sauce and cook till liquid evaporates, and the sauce sticks to the other ingredients.

Serve it on a bed of cabbage or like I did for tofu..cut the cabbage and mix it in to make a salad.

It was simple, quick and easy… veggies could be substituted as per your choice..if you like add cooked brown rice for grains. Either ways the dish is yum and can be adjusted to suit your taste. One dish I know I am going to have to make often. He might not say it…. but the way he enjoyed it while eating I could tell my hunny loved it as much =)

Until next time,

Enjoyy!!

Cheers =)

2 thoughts on “Asian Wrap

Leave a Reply

