Cream of Wild Rice Soup

I know I know, you guys are thinking what happened to Healthy eating? Why are we eating Creamy soup today?? Let me tell you…This is not at all cream based…. I don’t know if it would be okay to say, but it is FAUX CREAM based (fake cream) hehe…. I mean not fake literally, but illusion of creamy texture.

So this health management company (somehow related to our insurance) send these news letter every quarter…. there are 2-3 articles regarding fitness, health issue, ideas and tip and a recipe. This time the recipe is Cream of Wild Rice soup made by Chefs at Mayo Clinic. It sounded yum… so I wanted to try it.

CreamofWildRiceSoup

Cream Of Wild Rice Soup

Serves 4       From Chefs at Mayo Clinic

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups diced yellow onion

1 cup diced carrot

1 cup diced celery

2 cloves garlic minced

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1-1/2 cups diced Kale

1 tbsp minced parsley (used cilantro instead of parsley)

2 cups reduced-sodium vegetable stock ( I use Kitchen Basic No sodium Broth always)

1 tsp black pepper

1 cup unsalted white beans, prepared (used 1 can Cannellini Beans)

2 cups 1 % milk (used skim milk)

1/2 cup wild rice, cooked

Salt, to taste.

Procedure:

1. Saute Onion, carrot and garlic in olive oil in a soup pot until lightly brown. Add Kale, parsley, stock and spices.

2. In a blender, puree beans with milk. Add bean mixture to the soup, bring to simmer and add rice. Cook for 30 minutes.

Serve and Enjoy Hot/warm.

CreamofWildRiceSoup1

I had my soup with some Rye Toast, lightly buttered 😉 I did overdo the Kale a little-wanted to use all the remaining, so I had almost 3 cups of Kale and so I had to add more of the Stock (added 1/2 cup extra). I also added lot more pepper since I enjoy pepper in my food =)

The verdict…. YUM…. The beans add a good texture and taste to the soup. Fennel seeds, although just 1 tsp… but give good flavor–if you do not like chewing on these seeds, I suggest you powder them and mix in the soup. I know celery would make a lot of difference, unfortunately I did not have some today. If you have it…use it. It is a simply flavored soup (salt, pepper and fennel), but delicious…. if black pepper is not hot for you, adding some red pepper flakes should work. Rye Bread complemented the soup very well.

Oh btw, 1 serving of this soup equals 2 cups and has 229 Calories, 5 gm Fat, 7 gm Fiber, 11gm Protein, 6mg Cholesterol, and 35 gm total Carbs. I hope you do try this healthy, protein and fiber packed soup

Until next time,

Cheers =)

Leave a Reply

