Rajma Saagwala (Kidney Beans with Spinach)

Vegetarian Diet is becoming more and more popular for the amount of vegetables one can eat through that. What people forget is vegetables do not fulfill the protein requirements of the body. Meats and eggs are good source of protein. Being from India, our proteins came from Pulses and Legumes. Pulses include dried beans and lentils, while Legumes include pod shaped fruit bearing shrubs like Pea pods. Pulses are nothing but grains of legume and best source of protein for Vegetarians. I found a list of Pulses HERE.

When I was in India, I had joined a gym. The dietician there emphasized that I have protein with my meals. And recently I read an article by Bob Harper that advised the same- he said to have protein with all meals. So my husband and I have decided to add more proteins in our diet.

I started this Friday by making this recipe.

RajmaSaagwala1

RAJMA SAAGWALA (Kidney Beans with Spinach)

Serves 4              Adapted from Tarla Dalal’s Swadisht Subzi

1/2 cup rajma (Kidney Beans) soaked, cooked and drained (will become 1-1/2 cup cooked. I used 1 can cooked Kidney beans)

3 cups spinach chopped

1/2  tsp cumin seeds

2-3 green chillies, chopped.

1 tsp ginger, chopped

1 tsp garlic, chopped

1/2 cup onion, chopped

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1/4 tsp sugar (optional) ( I did not add it)

1/4 cup regular cream

1/4 cup skim milk

1-1/2 tsp oil

Salt to taste

Procedure:

1. Heat the oil and add the cumin seeds. When they crackle, add the green chillies, ginger, garlic, and onions and saute for 4 to 5 minutes.

2. Add the spinach, rajma, turmeric powder, and salt and cook it for a while.

3. Add the cream, milk , and sugar (if using) and simmer for few minutes.

Serve hot with Rotis or Parathas.

I know using cream is not good when you are trying to eat healthy…but I figured 1/4 cup is not as bad 😉 I did add milk since I wanted a little gravy. It was delicious…. If I had to eat this without any bread or rice, it would be equally okay!! Although it does not have curry powder or any other seasonings.. the chopped garlic and ginger with turmeric bring out the flavors in this recipe. Simple flavors, yet delicious!!

RajmaSaagwala

Hope you do try this recipe.

Enjoy!!

Cheers =)

One thought on “Rajma Saagwala (Kidney Beans with Spinach)

  1. Hello admin do you need unlimited articles for your website ?
    What if you could copy article from other websites, make it unique and publish on your site –
    i know the right tool for you, just search in google:
    Ziakdra’s article tool

Leave a Reply

