Mushroom Curry

I was supposed to post this recipe on Tuesday… Instead I spent Tuesday moving this blog from Blogspot to WordPress… still getting use to WordPress…. keep getting tempted to pay and get my own domain πŸ˜‰ But have been stopping myself. Anyways, so amidst all this, I totally forgot about posting this recipe πŸ˜€

Mushrooms are my favorite……grilled, sauteed, roasted…. they are one brilliant edible fungi πŸ˜‰ I love how they take in any seasoning you put in them. Recently I read in some magazine (can’t rem the name) and article on Mushrooms…. Mushrooms are low calorie and are good source of many nutrients. Since there are so many variety of Mushrooms, the article said eat all Mushrooms but button Mushrooms…. White Button Mushrooms have no nutritional value at all!!!

I have always loved Button Mushrooms since they were the only variety available in India when I lived there…. but after moving to the States I have tried Baby Bella, Portabella and Shitaki …. if I tried any other kind in any restaurant… I cant rem!! Recipe I am sharing today use Baby Bella….

Mushroom Curry

Servings: 2

1- 80z Whole Baby Bella Mushrooms (you could buy already sliced as well. I just prefer buying whole, cleaning them and slicing)

1 medium onion finely chopped

2 tsp oil

1 tsp cumin seeds

2 tsp garlic paste

1 tsp coriander powder

1 tsp cumin poder

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1-2 tsp red chilli powder ( this is totally upto your liking…I like spicy so I add 2)

1-1/2 cup warm milk (I use 2%)

1/4 cup mild Cheddar (optional)

Salt to taste

Chopped cilantro for garnish (trust me…a little bit of this makes a lot of difference)

Procedure:

1. In a pan, heat the oil and add cumin seeds…as the cumin starts to brown, add onions and saute until they are brown. Do so on medium heat. Then add garlic paste and saute for 30 secs.

2. Use wet paper towels to wipe whole mushrooms (if using whole) and slice them. Add the sliced Mushrooms to the pan. At this point add a little bit of salt as well…this will help the water from mushrooms to evaporate faster.

MushroomCurry

3. Once the mushrooms are cooked down a little… add the red chilli powder, turmeric, coriander powder and cumin powder.Β  Let saute for 1-2 mins more and then add warm milk. Stir.

MushroomCurry2

4. As the milk starts to boil, keep stirring. Taste and add salt if required. If you are using cheese, add it to the curry at this point. I did add some cheese in mine. It not only adds to the taste, but also thickens the curry. Even you don’t add the cheese, the curry will still thicken a little as it boils.

MushroomCurry1

5. Let it cook for few minutes. Garnish with chopped Cilantro. Serve hot with bread or rice.

MushroomCurry3

If you are a mushroom lover, you are going to love this recipe. It takes 20-25 minutes to make…. Simple, easy and quick.

So do try it… and let me know how you liked it =)

Until Next time,

Cheers =)

2 thoughts on “Mushroom Curry

Leave a Reply

