French Loaf

I know I have been away for a while… haven’t tried anything new (to be specific). I have been baking and cooking…just the same things. But 2 days ago I found this bread recipe. I love my breads… so had to make it. Yes of course, I used my new Kitchen Aid Stand mixer (loooove it)

This was another easy bread after the wonderful Basil Rosemary Foccacio. Quick to make, it tastes awesome!!! I got this from Robin at Keep Home Simple – a sweet blog by a stay at home mom with some budget friendly ideas.

So without further adieu… the recipe!

French Bread Loaf
from Keep Home Simple

Ingredients:

2-1/2 cups Warm Water
2 Tbsp Yeast
2 Tbsp Sugar
1 Tsp Salt (I would use 2 next time)
3 Tbsp Oil
5-1/2 to 6 cups Flour (I used 6 Cups)

    Procedure:

    1. Add yeast and then sprinkle the sugar over the 2 1/2 cups of water.  Let it sit for about five minutes until you see the yeast get all bubbly on top.

    2. Stir in the salt, oil, and flour. (I used Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer)

    3. Knead the dough for a few minutes until it is smooth and pulls away from the bowl.

     
    4. Then cover your bowl with a warm wet towel and let the dough sit for about 15 minutes.

    Tip – turn your microwave on for two minutes and set your bowl of bread dough in the warm microwave for the 15 minutes.  This warm environment makes the bread rise a lot faster.

    5. Divide the dough into two long loaves (rolling like a jelly roll and tucking in the ends). Place both loaves side by side on a greased cookie sheet. Then take a knife and slash the tops of each loaf diagonally. (My dough was soft and I could not make slits…so after 25 minutes I opened the oven and made some slits-not sure if that was good or bad)

     6. Allow the loaves to sit for a few minutes while you preheat your oven to 375. Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown.

    **Optional: For an extra crunchy crust, mix together one egg white with 1 T. cold water and brush on cooked bread and cook for another 3 minutes.

    Yum! It’s soft in the middle and slightly crunchy on the outside. Inspite of my boo boo…Yes I did Boo Boo… 

    So I did not see the Capital T (tbsp) and small t (tsp) in the recipe… so I just added 2 tsp of sugar and yeast!!! BUT…. It still worked….the dough still rose and the bread baked fine… However I do see how doing that would have made the dough a little less sticky and would have let me make the slits!! 

    But it is just perfect…. took me an hour and few minutes more… but perfect for bruschetta, or dipping in oil, or making sandwich… simply love it!!!  

    Do check the original blog…. linked up… Thanks Robin for sharing your recipe. This is a winner in my house =) 

    Until Next time

    Cheers =) 

    UPDATE: Made the bread again… this time right amount of yeast 😉 The bread is OMG awesome…made for an Italian Dinner Party… used the bread for bruschetta… was yumm!! 

    Leave a Reply

    