Orange Cranberry Cupcakes

This Daylight Savings Time change really throws you off…I think they should do this on Saturday so we have Sat and Sun to get used to it 😉 But with that extra hour I had to do something.. so I decided to bake some cupcakes =) The recipe I tried today…well I’ve been wanting to try it… but could not find 1 ingredient….I know what you are thinking… what is this ingredient that is so hard to find?? 

CRANBERRIES…. I know… its crazy…. you would think frozen cranberries would be easily available…apparently not!!! Maybe it might be me…. I went to just 2 grocery stores to check 😛 I just think its insane running around looking for something…. there are some people who do that… they don’t think about gas they are wasting!!

Anyhow, so when I saw this recipe almost a month ago… and could not find the cranberries, I chuck the idea of making it and had tried something else that weekend. This recipe is from Miryam’s blog Eat Good 4 Life. After some 3 odd weeks I realized, I could just rehydrate some dried cranberries (easily available)…confirmed it with Miryam if it was okay. She replied yes and also said fresh cranberries would be okay. While she replied to this … I was at the grocery noticing fresh cranberries at Publix (my fav grocery store) and putting it in the cart =) So seeing Miryam’s reply I was all excited to make these. 

This was my first time tasting fresh cranberries…In the packet they look like grapes….I assumed they would be soft and sweet…. surprise surprise… they weren’t…. they were not at all sweet and little hard-crunchy to be specific.

So this recipe called for frozen cranberries thawed… but these were crunchy…so I decided to use just 1 cup (versus 2 it calls for) and chopped them into pieces–running my knife through them.

They do have seeds…but very very tiny… and when I tried a cranberry I could barely feel the seeds. Anyways, so onwards with the recipe for some nice yummy Orange cranberry Cupcakes.

Orange Cranberry Cupcakes with Orange Frosting
From: Eatgood4life
 
Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 egg
1/4 cup olive or canola oil
3/4 cup orange juice plus 2 tablespoons (I squeezed the orange that I zested for some juice…gave me little less than 1/2 cup, then added bottled juice)
2 teaspoons grated orange zest
1 tablespoon orange extract
12 oz frozen cranberries, thawed, about 2 cups (I used 1 cup fresh cranberries, chopped)

Frosting   
4 tablespoons butter
8 oz reduced fat cream cheese
4 cups powdered sugar (I used little less than 3- definitely affects the texture but my taste testers do not like sweet frosting)
2 teaspoon orange extract
2 teaspoon orange zest

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Line a cupcake pan with cupcake liners.
2. In a bowl beat egg, oil, juice, orange extract, sugar and zest. 
3. Add flour, baking powder and baking soda. Fold in the the cranberries.
4. Spoon batter into cupcake liners 3/4 of the way.
5. Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden and tester comes out clean. Remove immediately from pan after baking and let cool completely on a wire rack.
6. For the frosting, mix all of the ingredients and frost cupcakes. 

The little purple specks are popped cranberries… oh yeah… those cranberries got cooked well and add nice taste to the cupcakes…. of course when these were baking the smell of orange filled my house 😉

Oh and that Orange Frosting… yummmeee….fingerlicious… no jokes..most delicious frosting… the orange zest and extract simply make it delicious and oh so fresh. Orange zest was easy to find in my grocery store…. I am glad because it sure makes a difference. 

I love the little specks of orange zest in the icing =) Since I used this stand alone liners… they are smaller than standard size liners… so I was able to make 16 (could have made more but only had 16 left ;)…need to get me some more 😀 ) But 16 medium size cupcakes…1 is perfect portion I think.

Yes of course I tasted it… and so did my husband…. 

It taste really good… can not tell it is made of whole wheat pastry flour (color does I know :P) Nice and moist… a little dense… but the orange flavor with bits of cranberry yummmm….My husband found this icing a little sweet as well… my other taste testers will try it tomorrow…lets see what they have to say. But another experiment successful!!! Thanks Miryam for sharing the recipe =)
I was reading up about orange frosting and lot of websites talked about using it on carrot cake/cupcake… after tasting it I agree… Orange frosting on carrot cupcakes would be one heck of a frosting….one thing I will have to try…maybe around Easter =)
Until my next bake….
Cheers =)
 

One thought on “Orange Cranberry Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

