Hearty Potato Soup

This week did not begin so great with Hurricane Sandy hitting the East coast… praying all gets better soon for everyone up there. I know it is going to take time for all living on the coast. But if New Orleans could come out of Hurricane Katrina, I am sure East Coasters can come out of this. A tough road for a while though. 

The Frankenstorm definitely has brought the cold weather. Down here in the South we are having some cooler temperatures. Cool temperatures means time for some warm soup. I love soups in winter– they are so warming and filling. 


Today I was home after 3 days of continuous working. Substitute jobs are so funny… there are days when I won’t have a job for the whole week….or like this week…where I have been having job almost everyday. Anywaz….so I had time to make lunch for myself today. With the cooler temperatures I was craving for this soup that I had years ago….7 years to be precise. I had this at my aunt‘s  house in Florida. She got it from the local newspaper. Their local newspaper printed recipes every Wednesday. 

So one Friday, she decided to make this and had me over as well. I can still remember how her kitchen smell when I entered and I remember seeing this huge pot and her stirring it (she was having quite a few of us over). Usually Friday’s at their house were Pizza nights. But she would add something in the mix every now and then. After tasting this soup, I knew I did not want pizza 😀


This soup called the Hearty Potato Soup is not only scrumptious, but very easy, simple and quick to make. Serve it with a crusty bread, it could be lunch or dinner. Perfect for those cold days, when you want something warm and comforting.

HEARTY POTATO SOUP
Courtesy: Jocelyn Kaki (my aunt :D) 
makes 8-10 servings

Ingredients:
6 medium potatoes

2 carrots diced

6 celery ribs

2 quarts water

1 onion copped

6 tbsp butter

6 tbsp all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1-1/2 cup milk

Procedure:

1. Peel and slice potatoes.

2. Cook potatoes, carrots and celery in water until tender–20 minutes.(I suggest cutting the carrot and celery into small pieces. I kept them a little big…would have been better cut in smaller pieces)


3. Drain, reserving liquid and setting vegetable aside.

4. In the same pot, saute onion in butter until soft.

5. Stir in flour, salt and pepper.

6. Gradually add milk.

7. Stir until thickened. Then add the cooked vegetables.(Once you add the veggies and stir, the potatoes are going to get a little mashed. Plus its a HEARTY soup….like chunky… has to have some pieces and bite to the soup.)


8. Add 1 cup or more of the reserved cooking liquid until desired consistency. (Firm suggestion…add little water at a time or the soup will thin out and you will have to boil it burn the water off)

9. Serve warm.  

I had mine with some fresh Cibbatta Roll…. dunk the crust roll in the hot soup…yumm. Eating this took me back 7 years, eating at my aunt’s house with all the cousins

This is one soup you definitely want to try. If you do try it…I would love to hear how you liked it =)

Stay warm and enjoooy!!

Cheers =)  


Leave a Reply

