Eggless Pineapple Cake

Every time I decide to try and recipe and go searching, it amazes me how many food bloggers are there and how many recipes people try. I have rarely seen any recipe getting repeated…now I might be just the reason for the recipes getting repeated =) 

So past weekend my dad mentioned about this website Divine Taste – based in Mumbai, India this blogger is a photographer, and food writer. Her recipes are vegetarian and saatvik (meaning clean eating), a mix of cuisines… and some delicious looking desserts. So after I went through the website- and seeing the desserts… I had to try this Eggless Pineapple Cake… I love pineapples….and cake is my thing ;). 

I do have to start by telling this cake was my lesson learning recipe. The base cake-very simple and easy. The cream topping–hmm… yeah that’s where I had my boo-boo.

More on that later…for now the recipe:

Eggless Pineapple Cake: 

recipe: Divine Taste

For the Sponge:

Ingredients:

250 gm (1 3/4 cups) plain flour
2 tbsp vanilla custard powder or cornflour (cornstarch) (I used custard powder)
4 tbsp icing sugar (confectioners sugar or fine sugar)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda/ sodium bicarbonate
1 tin/400gm sweetened condensed milk
100 gm (1/2 cup) butter
175 ml (3/4 cup)  water/milk (I used 2% milk)
2 tsp good quality vanilla extract

Method:

1. Grease and line the bottom of an 8” square or 9” round cake tin with greaseproof paper/baking parchment/butter paper.
2. In a mixing bowl, assemble the flour, custard powder or cornstarch, icing sugar,  baking powder and baking soda, mix with a spoon and sieve once to make the mixture uniform.
3. Preheat the oven at about 150 degrees centigrade.
4. Put in the condensed milk,  butter, vanilla extract and water or milk into the mixing bowl containing the dry ingredients. 

5. Beat with an electric hand mixer, whisk or spoon  until the mixture comes together and there are no lumps. This shouldn’t take more than 2 to 3 minutes with an electric hand mixer/beater. Be careful not to over beat the mixture as this could result into a hard cake.
6. Pour the batter into the cake tin and bake for an hour at 150 degree centigrade.
7. The cake is done when a knife or cake tester comes out clean when inserted in the center of the cake. Invert the cake on a cooling rack, cool and use as required.


 

For the Cream Icing:

Ingredients:

800gms  (3 1/4 cups) low fat cream (I used 25% Cream), chilled (I used Regular Cream)
175 gm (3/4 cup) unsalted butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
6 tbsp powdered sugar

Method:

1. Refrigerate the bowl and beater for 15 minutes.
2. In a saucepan, melt the butter and  3/4 cup cream, stirring all the while until the butter melts completely. Transfer to a heatproof cup or bowl and allow to cool to room temperature.

3. Beat the remaining cream with sugar until you get soft peaks. Now begin adding the butter in a gradual stream, beating constantly on low speed, until stiff peaks are formed.

About the accident I mentioned before: So the recipe says to mix in the butter cream with the cream being whipped after soft peaks form. Well.. the excited me kept beating the cream till it was all whipped and then added the cream butter… yaaa… the whipping cream got over beaten. Well so after 2nd trip to grocery store–I started the process again, this time as soon as the whipping started to happen, I gradually poured the cream butter 😀 

Other Ingredients:

250 ml (1 cup) or more pineapple juice
Pineapple slices from 1 tin

Assemble the cake:

1. Once the sponge cake has cooled, carefully slice it into two halves. 2. Keep the bottom half on the serving plate and sprinkle with pineapple juice until the entire cake is soaked with it.
3.Spread a little cream over the cake and top with finely cut pieces of pineapple.
4. Carefully place the other sponge over the prepared cake and sprinkle again with the pineapple juice until the top half is soaked with it.
5. Spread the cream over the sides and top of the cake with a palette knife and decoratively arrange some pineapple rings over the cake.
6. Chill for 3 to 4 hours before you serve.

So I like the taste… although do realize the need to add more pineapple juice. When it says soak… you wanna make sure it is completely soaked. I did add good amount, but was worried about it getting mushy. I wonder staying overnight in the fridge might make it softer. I taste it today and it tasted as delicious. One thing I did not understand is the need for butter. I think with the quality of cream that we have herejust using the whipping cream might have worked as well. 

Once again I have not had the chance for my taste testers to try it yet, but I am hoping they will like it as much 😀 But do have to thank my dad for telling me about this website…Thank You poppy…..my dad is not really a cake person, but I know he would like the refreshing pineapple taste in this one 😀

Btw.. do check out Divine Taste — I definitely am going to try some of her other recipes!

This is all for now,

Until next time,

Cheers =)   

UPDATE: So after some research I realized the whipping cream we get here…we do not need to add butter!!! The original recipe involves butter due to the low fat content of the cream as well as the way the creams are in India. So totally omit the butter if using regular/heavy whipping cream!

Leave a Reply

