Eggless Mango Cupcake

Mango is a very dear fruit to “my” people… Mango is a very precious fruit in India-a seasonal fruit that is available from sometime in May until July/August (as soon as rains come…the harvest starts deteriorating). Cultivation of mango trees takes slot of patience and some caring. My in-laws have Mango Farm/garden in India….So I know how long it takes a tree to grow and bear fruit. First time I saw the farm, I remember my father-in-law mentioning how some of the trees were planted when my husband was a young child and the fruits have just started to come since last 2-3 years.  

Mangoes are eaten raw or ripe. Ripen mangoes are sucked on, sliced, cubed and pulped to get some nice juice called “aam-ras”-eated with some fried Indian bread called “puri’s”. Trust me Puri and Aam-Ras are a deadly combo!!

Top that off with this cake being eggless…. My friends mom does not eat eggs..and with all the baking trials I do… I always wanted to make something eggless so she could taste what I made… She was away for a while. But now she is back! So I had to make these Eggless Mango Cupcakes. So this is for my friends mom, my aunt-Shakuntala Kaki. 

Another interesting thing past weekend- I found this cupcake liners/holder in Marshall… you don’t need a cupcake pan!! So I had to try them. They come in pack of 25 and cost $3.99….. Infact they also had mini loaf liners… no pan required…just place them on flat cookie tray, pour your batter and voila…ready!!

Oh they work…. awesome!!! So I doubled the recipe-having some friends over this weekend… they might as well be my taste testers πŸ˜‰

So the recipe:

Eggless Mango Cupcake
from Holy Cow Vegan

Mango Cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cardamom powder

Sift all the ingredients into a bowl and set aside.

In another bowl, beat together until well-mixed:

1 1/2 cups mango puree(I used aam-ras available in Indian grocery stores-bought Nirav Brand Kesar Mango Ras. Although am sure defrosting frozen mangoes and pureeing them will work just fine)

1/3 cup canola oil

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix with a whisk just until you have a smooth batter. Do not overmix or overbeat.

Divide the batter equally among 12 cups of a standard-sized muffin pan lined with cupcake liners. Smooth down the tops with the back of a spoon or spatula or you will have a lumpy top (it’ll still taste delicious, though :))

Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven about 27 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

How Yummy these look…could eat one just like that!!
The mango puree I used.Really good tasting!

Vegan Mango Buttercream Frosting

8 tbsp (1 stick) vegan butter like Earth Balance

8 tbsp vegetable shortening (I replaced it with 1 stick of butter instead)

2 cups confectioners’ sugar (I’ve seen recipes that use more than 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar for the same amount of butter and shortening and if you like a really sweet frosting, you might try adding more. But 2 cups, I found, was just perfect). (I used 3 cups of sugar…after 3 cups and putting it in the fridge for 30 minutes it was thick enough to handle)

1/4 cup mango puree

1 tsp vanilla extract

Cream together the butter and shortening until they are fluffy, about 1 minute.

Now add the mango puree and vanilla and half the sugar. Beat until mixed, then add the remaining sugar and beat until mixed. This should take no more than 2 minutes altogether.

Frost the cupcakes after they’ve cooled completely. 

Yayyy my frosting actually stayed good this time.. not melted lol… putting it in the fridge helped….Lesson learned today–handle icing in batches..fill bag, put rest back in fridge… frost, then take out the rest when need to refill. BTW no gadgets for this cake…just a whisk and bowls and some muscle power πŸ˜€

I feel proud of my icing skills today πŸ˜‰ Now let me tell you about the taste…OMG HEAVEN… the moistness of the cake is unbeatable…the taste of the mango puree and cardamom is absolutely pleasant for the taste buds! Husband and I shared 1 cupcake for taste test…but OMG it was awesome… the cake itself is not sweet so with 3 cups of powdered sugar in the icing…PERFECTNESS!!!
Thank you to Holy Cow Vegan’s author-Vaishali for sharing this recipe. 
Try this–you won’t be disappointed.  

Happy eating 
Enjoy!!

Cheers =)

2 thoughts on “Eggless Mango Cupcake

Leave a Reply

