Chocolate Mousse Cake

I am in love with the blog Eat Good 4 Life and Mirayam’s recipes (Thanks a ton girl)- they are healthier versions and taste equally good. So this is my 2nd recipe from her blog that I tried and changed at some places. 

I have always wanted to be able to bake a cake which has layer of filling in the middle and frosting all over it outside-the cake can’t be actually seen until you cut it. I watch Everybody Loves Raymond re-runs and the mom, Marie, would make such cakes and I was like dang I should have been in Italian family (since I am nuts about pastas and desserts…I probably wud have fit just fine there :P). When I found this recipe on the blog I was super excited to try it… plus I turn 30 tomorrow (30 on 30th September funeeee)- so a birthday treat to myself 😉

Chocolate Mousse Cake:
From Blog-  Eat Good 4 Life


Cake:
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 3/4 cup sugar, you can substitute some of the sugar for honey ( I added 1 cup truvia and 1/2 cup honey)
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 cup reduced fat milk
1 cup strong brewed coffee
1 teaspoon chocolate extract, you can also use vanilla extract
1/2 cup light olive oil (I had extra light olive oil-so just used that)
2 eggs

Mousse:
1 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/4 cup powdered sugar, more if you like (did not see the powdered sugar and thot it was sugar and replaced it with 1/4 Truvia)

Frosting
8 oz reduced fat cream cheese

1/2 cup heavy cream
1 1/4 cup powdered sugar (again did not read powdered sugar. Started with 1 cup truvia and then saw oops powdered sugar so added 1/4 cup powdered sugar)
6 oz dark chocolate chips, any other chocolate will do (I had bittersweet-60% cocoa)

For the Cake:
Grease and flour a 9 inch spring-form pan and set aside. (You can also use two 9 inch round cake pans). Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a bowl mix all the wet cake ingredients. Add dry ingredients to the bowl and combine. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for about 50- 60 minutes or until tester comes out clean (I baked mine for about 50 minutes).

Remove cake from the oven and cool on a wire rack completely.

For the mousse:
In a bowl beat the cream until foamy and gradually pour in the sugar and cocoa powder beating until stiff peaks form.

For the frosting:
In another bowl beat the cream cheese, and sugar (since I used truvia, had to beat a little longer). Over medium to high heat bring heavy cream to a boil. Turn of heat and add chocolate chips. Blend together until chips are melted. Pour the melted chocolate into the cheese mixture and combine.Let it sit for 30-40 minutes until if firms up a bit.

To assemble the cake:
Because I baked the cake in a 9 inch spring-form pan rather than in two 9 inch pans I divided the cake in two layers by cutting it horizontally.
Spread the mouse over one cake layer. Top with second cake layer and frost the top and sides with the chocolate frosting. 




With Mousse and Icing
Even with my boo-boo’s the frosting and mousse turned out just fine. Although my taste tester-my husband thought the cake should be a little sweeter. I thought it was perfect with the icing and mousse. Maybe I should have added the 1/4 cup sugar I didn’t add 😀 
Look at that lovely cake:

And the awesomest tasting slice– dessert before dinner is the best way to go 😀 – had to taste it to write here =)

BTW can’t even tell used whole wheat flour 😀 

Once again, thanks Mirayam for sharing this recipe- best Birthday cake I’ve ever had =) 

enjoooy!!

Cheers =)

UPDATE: On the original blog 1 visitor commented she liked it better the next day…. my husband thinks the same…he thinks it tastes better the next day than the day I made it.. I love it still 😉

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse Cake

  1. Pingback: Easy Chocolate Cake | Life Scribbles Over Coffee

Leave a Reply

