Tiramisu Cupcakes

I love Tiramisu. First time I tasted it, I was in India… now we Indians love our desserts sweet–tooth decay sweet, at least we used to. Not any more. With pastry/dessert experts emerging there…. the sweetness of desserts has come down to normal mostly πŸ˜‰ So when I tasted Tiramisu here first time at Olive Garden… I thought it was not all that ( not sweet enough) tried it at another restaurant (local) it was same… thats when I learned how desserts should be. Anywhooo I fell in love with Tiramisu- all of the creaminess, the coffee taste. I always wondered how they made it. Asked my best friend-Google… loads of recipes.. abt dipping something called lady finger into something, then whipping some cream blah blah– I am talking about 6 yrs ago… absolute illiterate in this matter. 

Cut the story short…1 of my friends makes the best Tiramisu (I did get the recipe from her– messed up the first time, and then 2nd time around got it right-but that will be another posting). So when I bought this cupcake book and saw Tiramisu cupcakes…you cant imagine how excited I was. So without further adieu …..


TIRAMISU CUPCAKES:
adapted from: The Cupcake 

Makes 12

Ingredients:

Cupcake:
Scant 1 cup self rising flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup butter, softened, or soft margarin (I used butter)
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs beaten lightly
2 tbsp finely grated semisweet chocolate, to decorate

Coffee Syrup:
2 tsp instant coffee powder (I usually have Starucks Via packets-Italian Roast–so i used that)
2 tbsp confectioners/powdered sugar
4 tbsp water

Frosting:
8 oz mascarpone cheese
scant 1/2 cup superfine sugar
2 tbsp Marsala Wine or Sweet sherry (I did not have either and did not want to go buy, so I made it without this ingredient-still tasted Tiramisu like πŸ˜€)

Preheat the oven to 350 deg F. Put 12 paper liners into a shallow Muffin/cupcake pan
Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl. Add the butter, brown sugar, and eggs and using an electric mixer, beat together until smooth.
Spoon the batter into the paper liners. Bake in the preheated oven for 15-20 mins, or until risen, golden and firm to the touch.
Meanwhile, make the coffee syrup. Put the instant coffee powder, confectioner’s sugar and water in a saucepan and heat gently, stirring until the coffee and sugar have dissolved. Boil for a minute and let it cool for at least 10 mins.
Once the cupcakes are done, cool them slightly in the pan. Prick the tops of the warm cupcakes all over with a skewer and brush with coffee syrup. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.
To make the Frosting, put the mascarpone cheese, superfine sugar and Marsala (if using) into a bowl and beat together until smooth.
Spread the frosting over the cupcakes. Using a star stencil, sprinkle the grated chocolate over the frosting. (I just sprinkled them-no star stencil)

Here is a tray full of them:

Yes there is just 11… I had to taste one…so my husband (mt taste tester) and I shared 1 to taste :D. This is the first cupcake I made ever since I decided to bake and try new recipes. So was very nervous about how they tasted.

I made these for our wedding anniversary and 1 of my friends birthday which happens to be on the same day. We went out for dinner and took these with us to eat at the restaurant. Ironically we went to Olive garden hahahaha.

Even shared 1 with our server πŸ˜€ we are very good like that πŸ˜‰

So try them… I promise you you will love it…. The book has many wonderful recipes… have tried 1-2 others from the book, will post them soon as well.

Enjoooy

Cheers =)



Leave a Reply

