White Russian Cupcakes with Kahula Buttercream

So last week I made the Black Russian Cake in a Bundt pan- uses Vodka and Kahula. Today’s post is about its white sister… WHITE RUSSIAN CUPCAKES WITH KAHULA BUTTERCREAM. So this is not a cake but 12 cupcakes. Although I think it could be easily made into a cake and decorated with the kahula Buttercream icing. 

So by now you guys know, I always like trying other’s recipe. I am still on learning stage– still learning right ways to handle ingredients, icing etc. So I like trying other people’s recipe. It helps me in 2 ways- whether the end product looks anything similar to the pictures posted by the original cook and also whether my peeps and I like the taste of the particular dessert/cake. So yes this recipe is “Thanks to Pinterest” and blog writer-baker of “Baked Perfection“. She has some nice recipes–all baking related. But since my friends are all about Black Russian, I had to try this when I saw it on Pinterest. 

This cupcake is basically vanilla version of the Black Russian, just from scratch. Remember in the Black Russian cake I used some store bought items… maybe adding cocoa powder to this one would make it similar…hmm… might have to experiment 😉 

Here is the recipe:

cupcake recipe adapted from How to Eat a Cupcake, Buttercream recipe from Baked Perfection

makes 12 cupcakes

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sugar
6 tablespoons butter, softened
1 large egg and 1 egg white
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
1/8 cup Vodka
1/4 cup Kahlua, divided

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a cupcake pan with paper liners.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. 
  3. In a seperate bowl or in a stand mixer, beat together the sugar and butter until combined. 
  4. Add egg and egg white, one at a time. 
  5. Then add the vanilla, Vodka, and 1/8 cup of Kahlua. 
  6. Gradually add the flour mixture in three additions, alternating with the milk in two additions, ending with the flour mixture.
  7. Bake 17 -20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of a cupcakes comes out clean. 
  8. While the cupcakes are still warm, brush the tops with the remaining 1/8 cup Kahlua. 
  9. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire rack before frosting.

Kahlua Buttercream
recipe from Baked Perfection

1 stick of butter, softened
3 cups powdered sugar (I added sugar 1 cup at a time- 3 cups just sounded too sweet-until reached my sweetness taste-which was barely 1-1/2cups)
pinch of salt
3 – 4 tablespoons Kahlua

Beat butter until creamy. Add salt. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time, beating until combined. Add Kahlua 1 tablespoon at a time until you reach desired consistency.
 
 
 
Yes as I squeezed the icing out of the bag….. it decided to spread out. It was loose- because I decided to add extra 1-2 tbsp of Kahula as I thought “oh my the icing looks a little too thick”..like I said I am still learning… so this was my learning point– Icing has to be a little thick for decoration purpose, for it have the shape. If you check original posting at Baked Perfection you will see how bad I am at icing 😉 haha but I know practice makes perfect 😉

So will keep practicing and one day I will be able to decorate my cupcakes just right 😉 BTW these tasted awesome… even though I thought that the icing was still sweet, my taste testers liked it coz the cupcake itself is not sweet… so the icing added the right sweetness =)

Happy eating

Cheers =)
Leave a Reply

