Primary School-Can I go back??

Today, 5th September 2012 is Teacher’s Day in India. It is the Birthday celebration of the 2nd President of India Dr. S. Radhakrishnan who was an academic philosopher. I still remember going to school-all excited coz although we did go to school, we did not have to carry books or backpacks. We would go in, have a special assembly with some fun and humor, wish the teachers. We would go to our classrooms, while teachers went to the staff room (teacher workroom) and would sit and talk and enjoy the day. 

We would have seniors (11th and 12th graders- schools in India start at KG and end at 12th across most boards and states) come to our classroom and be our teachers. Our teachers moved from one class to another while we stay put in 1 class. So seniors would do the same. We had to treat them the same way we would treat a teacher. Seniors did everything while teachers got to eat, relax and be merry. At the end of the day we would have a 1 hour entertainment for teachers-plays, dancing etc. ABSOLUTELY FAB TIMES.

Today when I went to sub in one of the schools, I was looking at kids working. Sitting at their desks, arranging stuff in there, the books, the stationery… Oh I miss those days!! I was the good student 😉 always wanted to make sure I took all notes, did my homework and tried to be teacher’s pet (never succeeded, but never gave up too :D). The excitement of buying new stationery at the beginning of the school year, uniforms, new backpack–memories!! Getting back with friend, the gossip, the fights, the mean girls, handsome boys, studious kids….. never ending list. 

All this made me think how much I miss it….. although then all I wanted to do was grow up, get done with studies-no homework, no tests/exams, and no gossip/rumors. But now at this point of time when I work in schools, all I want to do is go back and re-live it all. Only this time I will make sure that I enjoy every bit and not think about growing up =) 

Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

