Black Russian Cake

Almost 2 years ago one of my friends friend (I can call her my friend now :D) shared this recipe with us….. she called it the awesomest cake every and I have to say I agree. Besides being the awesomest, it is also the easiest cake I have ever made. Really, its just putting all ingredients in 1 bowl, using a hand held mixer or standing mixer to mix it and baking it. As simple as that. 

I am all about making stuff from scratch. I got this recipe when I was not all that in baking… so I loved this recipe… how easy could it get. It uses some alchohol in it-although you might not taste the alcohol. The Vodka just makes it perfectly moist while the Kahula gives it a nice flavor. I will look for a recipe that is from scratch. But until then… here is the recipe.

BLACK RUSSIAN CAKE

Bake time: 55 mins                       Bake Temp: 325 degree F               

Cake Ingredients:

1 yellow cake mix
1 large box instant chocolate pudding
½ cup sugar
4 eggs
1cup oil
¼ cup vodka
¼ Kahlua
¾ cup water
Icing Ingredients:

1/3 cup Kahlua

1/3 cup powdered sugar

Procedure:
1. Preheat oven to 325 degree F. Mix all the cake ingredients in a bowl 1 minute on low and 4 minutes on medium. 
2. Pour the ingredients in a greased and floured Bundt Pan. (I did not use the Bundt pans this time as I baked this cake for my friend and she wanted just 1/2 cake :D, but Bundt Pan makes a difference I think)

3. Bake the cake for 55 minutes at 325 degree F. Meanwhile mix the the icing ingredients well. 


4. After 55 mins, test to see if the cake is done by inserting toothpick. Let the cake sit for 10 minutes (Sometimes I do 15-20 mins). You will see the cake release from the pan. Put a plate on the pan and flip it. Shake the pan gently and the cake should release. 

5. Drizzle the icing over the cake. Finish with some powdered sugar. Enjooooy!!!!
I have made this cake so many times in past 2 yrs – birthdays, anniversary, just like that :D….all my friends love this cake. 

Until next time,

Cheers =)
One thought on “Black Russian Cake

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Cake | Life Scribbles Over Coffee

Leave a Reply

