RUM CAKE

So besides speaking my mind, I also wanted to write about all the experiments I do….cooking experiments. Rum cake has always been on my list. My friend, in fact, has been asking me and another friend of mine (we love baking)… to make her a rum cake… so finally here it is. Of course I had to look for some recipes… where else but PINTEREST… love that place, so many ideas-whatever it is… crafts, decor, recipes. So after pinteresting (my new word…like googling :D) I like this recipe. I do have to mention there were sooo many recipes and different flavored rum cakes (will try them eventually). Most of the recipes started with boxed cake mix… I like that… makes it easy. But then I found this one where the baker made it from scratch. 


I have taken this recipe from Browneyedbaker She has really good recipes-do check her site out. 

For the Cake:
1 cup chopped walnuts
1¾ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup cornstarch
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1½ cups granulated sugar
3 tablespoons + ½ cup canola oil, divided
1 3.4-ounce package of instant vanilla pudding (browneyedbaker had DIY vanilla pudding recipe)
4 eggs
¾ cup whole milk (I used 2 % milk)
¾ cup dark rum (while looking for recipes, read at few places that using Myers or Cruzan add good flavor- I used Myers)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

For the Rum Syrup:
¾ cup unsalted butter
1½ cups granulated sugar
¼ cup water
Pinch of salt
½ cup dark rum

1. Start by preheating your oven to 325 degrees F. Grease and flour your bundt/baking pan. I used 2 aluminum foil pans (was giving away 1 to my friend). Sprinkle the bottom with walnuts. 

 2. In a bowl, mix together All purpose flour, cornstarch, salt and baking powder. I pass it through a sieve ( Ina Garten mentioned on her show on Food Network that passing through sieve not only removes the clumps but also is a good way to add air to the flour so the final product is nice n fluffy)

3. In another bowl start off the butter and sugar. Beat until it is light and fluffy-for 3 minutes.

 4. Add the flour mixture and 3 tbsp of oil. Mix it all well on low-medium speed for about 1-2 minutes. Add the pudding mix and mix again on medium speed. 

5. In a seperate bowl, add the eggs, rum,  milk, remaining 1/2 cup of oil, and vanilla extract. 

6. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture. Beat for 2-3 minutes on medium speed until well combined.

7. The batter will be thin and that is okay. It will make the cake soft and moist.

8. Pour the batter in the Bundt pan (aluminum foil pans in my case). Bake it for 50-60 minutes.

9. When there are 10 minutes left in for the cake to be done, start on the rum syrup. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan. After the butter is melted, add sugar and water and mix well. Stir for 5 minutes stirring constantly. Take it off the stove and add the rum. 

10. When you mix liqueur in the butter-sugar mixture, it will bubble a little. So be careful.

 11. Put it back on the stove for 30 seconds. As soon as you put it back on the stove, it is going to bubble and rise, therefore a medium saucepan is must ( I used small) and had this wonderful spill 😉

12.  When the cake is ready (test with a toothpick if it is ready) pill it out and pour 1/3 of the syrup on the cake. In my case I poked holes and poured syrup on it. Let it rest for 5 mins.

13. Invert the cake on serving platter, poke holes everywhere possible- top and sides. Poke as many holes. Don’t worry, it will not fall apart… so feel free to poke holes. Pour the syrup slowly. You want to make sure the syrup seeps in through the holes. Keep doing it until all the syrup is used up. 

14. I put the cake back in the pan since I was going to give it to my friend. I did leave some syrup so I could pour some on the top.

One final picture of the 2 cakes:


Ready to eat…. lip smackingly delicious. 

On several other blogs and sites I read that keep the cake for 5-6 hours or overnight lets it soak the rum and keeps it moist. Also best way to store this cake is at room temperature and covered. You can store it up to 5 days. But trust me, once you start eating, there is no way it is going to last that long 😉

Baking is not hard– all you need is patience to try. Bake as if you are playing… it will turn out awesome I promise =)

Enjoy Eating!!

Disclaimer: This recipe was found via Pinterest on another website and I have fully credited the original baker via the link to the website. This post is just to show my experience in making this cake.   

2 thoughts on “RUM CAKE

Leave a Reply

